Team

Special Special Education Services/SPDG

Alabama State Department of Education

Gordon Persons Building, Room 3316


P.O. Box 302101


Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2102



Tel: (334) 694-4782 
Fax Number (334) 694-4978


Ashley H. Cawley


Director, State Personnel Development Grant (SPDG)

ashley.cawley@alsde.edu
334-694-4808

Jocelyn Cooledge


External Evaluator

Teri_Shriver

Teri Shriver


Goal 1 Coordinator

teri.shriver@alsde.edu

Tiffany_Moore

Tiffany Moore


Goal 2 Coordinator

tiffany.moore@alsde.edu

Sonja_Hines

Sonja S. Hines


Professional Learning Coordinator

sonja.hines@alsde.edu

Marian_Parker

Marian Parker


SPDG Data and Fiscal Support

marian.parker@alsde.edu

Pam_Gann

Pam Gann


Goal 1 Coaching Coordinator

pam.gann@alsde.edu

Rhonda_Morton

Rhonda Collins Morton


Goal 2 Coaching Coordinator

rhonda.morton@alsde.edu

Vickie_Brown

Vickie Brown


Goal 1 Instructional Coach

vickie.brown@alsde.edu

Diane_Byars

Diane Byars


Goal 2 Instructional Coach

diane.byars@alsde.edu

Lisa_Dear

Lisa Dear


Goal 1 Instructional Coach

lisa.dear@alsde.edu

Gwen_Hardnett

Gwendolyn Hardnett


Goal 2 Instructional Coach

gwendolyn.hardnett@alsde.edu

Donna_Hodges

Donna Hodges


Goal 2 Instructional Coach

donna.hodges@alsde.edu

Rosalyn_Oliver-Johnson

Rosalyn Oliver-Johnson


Goal 1 Instructional Coach

rosalyn.johnson@alsde.edu

LaRhonda_Stewart-Pears

LaRhonda S. Pears


Goal 1 Instructional Coach

larhonda.pears@alsde.edu

Betsy_Stockdale

Betsy Stockdale


Goal 1 Instructional Coach

elizabeth.stockdale@alsde.edu

aslspdg-team-05162024-01

The Alabama MTSS Team invited our SPDG Goal 1 Coaches to their District Showcase at UAB on May 6, 2024. Shown above (front left to front right) are Lisa Dear, Theresa Farmer, Sonja Hines, Ashley Cawley, Rosalyn Oliver-Johnson, LaRhonda Pears, Vickie Brown, and Betsy Stockdale.

AL MTSS/ALSPDG MTSS Joint Meeting

The Alabama MTSS State Team invited our Goal 1 Coaches to attend their Feb. 5, 2024, session in Hoover, where we were inspired by their knowledge and enthusiasm. We thank Kristie Shankles and the MTSS Team for making us feel welcome and sharing their activities and plans.

SPDG Coach Lisa Dear makes plans with MTSS Coaches Andrea Beall and Andrea Walker to visit their sites.

SPDG Coach Lisa Dear makes plans with MTSS Coaches Andrea Beall and Andrea Walker to visit their sites.

MTSS Coach Casey Tate, SPDG Coach Pam Gann, and MTSS Coach Kevin Connell discuss MTSS sites across northern Alabama.

MTSS/PST Overview

Alabama MTSS Regional Coach Kevin Connell presented an overview of Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) and Problem-Solving Teams (PST) to Goal 1 coaches and support team members at the Shelby County Instructional Services Center in Alabaster on Sept. 15, 2023.

The braiding of MTSS with Goal 1’s MTSS-Reading initiative is focused on improving reading achievement for students with disabilities in the middle grades. This partnership holds great promise for achieving sustainability and improving student literacy proficiency.

Attending the training were Lisa Dear, Vickie Brown, Betsy Stockdale, Marian Parker, Marti Rizutto, Pam Gann, Ashley Cawley, Sonja Hines, and Kevin Connell. (Not pictured: Ashante Batson)

Attending the training were Lisa Dear, Vickie Brown, Betsy Stockdale, Marian Parker, Marti Rizutto, Pam Gann, Ashley Cawley, Sonja Hines, and Kevin Connell. (Not pictured: Ashante Batson)

Sustaining Co-Teaching/Co-Planning

The co-teaching/co-planning model pairs a general education teacher with a special education teacher, who plan and implement instruction for students in an inclusive classroom.

Coaches from Alabama’s State Systemic Improvement Plan continue to assist schools in their co-teaching/co-planning initiatives.

Two recent presentations focused on:

  • embedding effective co-teaching approaches in co-taught academic lessons
  • demonstrating the purpose for two teachers to be teaching the classes
  • incorporating specially designed instruction and accommodations in co-taught lessons
  • implementing scheduled and effective co-planning procedures
A group of teachers sit around a table during a presentation.
Photo of coaches Vickie Brown and Fannie Adams trained co-teaching/co-planning dyads at Enterprise High School.

On July 27, 2023, coaches Vickie Brown and Fannie Adams trained co-teaching/co-planning dyads at Enterprise High School.

Photograph of Coaches Vickie Brown and Lisa Dear presented training to teaching pairs, or dyads, at Jacksonville State University on July 12, 2023.

Coaches Vickie Brown and Lisa Dear presented training to teaching pairs, or dyads, at Jacksonville State University on July 12, 2023.